“tumblr”: A Review from the Inside by Will Kay

Posted on January 3, 2011

2


Now, it was only a matter of time before I got a tumblr blog because I am of the self-congratulatory sect of the population and tumblr is populated by us. The reason we flock to tumblr is that it gives the appearance of creativity and vision. So in other words tumblr is the wankers’ cum bucket. Tumblr has no self-esteem and takes the most superficial attractions as the main event. That’s not to say that tumblr isn’t fun, everyone knows that sluts are great fun and often very earnest. It is just that one can get lost in its dank confines all-too-easily only to emerge with all the spoils, but none of the soul.

The tumblr logo

My tumblr wank began many months ago, I was spurred into action by a uni assignment that asked something about new media and rabble-rabble. I began with all the pretention required: naming my tumblr blog “A Smack of Jellyfish” (I was going through a stage of memorising collective nouns; as any who’s been through that phase knows, smack is superior to fluther). I had my faux-indie film self-aware quote from The Brothers Bloom, “There is no such thing as an unwritten life, just a badly written one.” I had my smattering of obscure images procured from flickr pages never visited by anyone other than their owners. I was set to rage tumblr stylé, but I stumbld.

My tumblr blog “A Smack of Jellyfish”.

I was missing the one thing that binds the arrogant tumblr users to each other and that which ultimately makes the site worthwhile: following tumblr blogs that I could steal from easily (which transmutes to “reblog” in tumblrian). So, when a few days ago I decided dive back into tumblr’s murky waters, I began to steal/“reblog” from the tumblr blogs that I follow. Day-by-day I have trudged deeper into the sodden breast of tumblr, reblogging its dainty milk dry, “connecting” and “creating” a shit-pile of images or, in tumblrian, “A dream of fantasies”. I, like the archetypical tumblr user, don’t have creativity and vision, but now with tumblr I have the appearance of it.

The home page of the revolutionary tumblr blog, “Fuck Yeah Sharks”.

Posted in: Websites