Staff Favourites 1(A): “Guilty Pleasure Movies”

Posted on September 28, 2011

3


In honour of all things ‘Spring’, the You’re Dripping Egg contributing staff are waxing lyrical about some of their favourite things.

Round 1: "Guilty Pleasure Movies"

Mattie’s Favourite Guilty Pleasure Movie: Miss Congeniality

Mattie Mould

Rated a mighty 6.0 out of 10 on IMDB and brandishing the tagline; “Unpolished. Unkempt. Unleashed. Undercover.” Miss Congeniality is my guilty pleasure movie. But can it be a guilty pleasure when you feel absolutely no guilt in watching it over and over?

Seminal scene from "Miss Congeniality".

FBI agent Gracie Hart (the wonderful Sandra Bullock) is the unapologetic tomboy of her squad, with golden boy Eric Matthews (Benjamin Bratt) as the leader of the team focused on finding the roots of a recent terrorist threat made to the Miss United States pageant. Hart is the only viable choice of undercover agent and she is thrust into a world of mascara, lip gloss and hairspray being used to “stop the suit from riding up” … ”riding up where?” … “just…up!”. It’s a classic rom-com complete with a dance scene (with Bullock dressed as the statue of liberty), a transformation makeover and a moral ending.

The characters are eclectic, hilarious and extremely well cast. With Bullock and Bratt taking care of the romantic leads, Candace Bergen takes the ‘bad guy’ role as a bitching ex-beauty queen on her last legs and William Shatner taking the oblivious and seedy pageant co-host role. Michael Caine as Victor Melling – pageant consultant, brings the meerest hint of class to this super un-classy movie.

Apart from helping me to learn more about swimsuit etiquette and how to kick a guy’s ass, this movie has given me so many useful comebacks to throw into everyday conversation such as; “I’m in a dress, I have gel in my hair, I’m starved and I’m armed. Don’t mess with me!” or “I haven’t seen a walk like that since Jurassic Park.”

It tackles hard core issue such as binge drinking – “ah it’s light beer and she’s going to throw it up anyway”, body image – “he’s going to take one look at that fake rack and send her right back”, and self-confidence – “I am an FBI agent, I’m not a performing monkey in heels”. In my mind, where could this movie go wrong?

Braam’s Favourite Guilty Pleasure Movie: Happy Gilmore vs. Caddyshack

Braam Smith

Just one guilty pleasure movie? You must be joking! There are two standout candidates that, whilst separated by a generation, deliver success from the same mould. Immaculate one-liners, delivery by the comic geniuses of their time and, although intrinsic to their marketing, the events on the golf course serve as little more than a canvas upon which the limited drama that their plot allows is sketched.

A scheduling of Happy Gilmore on free-to-air requires all conflicting plans in my household to be cancelled. Co-starring Julie Bowen (Modern Family) in her first ‘major’ role, Carl Weathers (Rocky) and a cameo from Ben Stiller (Zoolander), there are plenty of distractions for those who don’t subscribe to Sandler’s style.

Sandler, delivering one of the best lines in "Happy Gilmore": "That's your home, are you to good for your home?!"

The premise that an Ice Hockey-wannabe is trapped in the body of a gifted golfer immediately broadens the appeal of Sandler’s character, paving the way too for accepted golfing norms to be challenged. The resulting dialogue is what keeps bringing me back to this one:

Coach: “Golf’s no different from hockey. It requires talent and self discipline.”
Happy: “Golf requires goofy pants and a fat ass. You should talk to my neighbor the accountant, probably a great golfer, huge ass.”

Coach: “Thanks for dressing up”
Happy: “Hey if I wore pants like that guy, I’d have to kick my own ass.”

The scene where Sandler vents his miniature golf frustration out on a mechanical clown was surely the trigger for his casting in Anger Management.

The crowning glory of this Golfing Comedy genre, though, dates back over 30 years to Caddyshack. If possible, this has even less plot than Happy Gilmore, but the void is filled by a variety of mostly unrelated sub-plots, some of which converge at the end.

The "Varmint Cong" in "Caddyshack".

Let’s face it; you’d be in this one for the one-liners as well. Most are reserved for the outrageously inappropriate Rodney Dangerfield, although Chevy Chase’s comic timing and Bill Murray’s improvisation help affirm Caddyshack as a comedy classic.

Judge: “… He’s been club champion for three years running and I’m no slouch myself”
Chase: “Don’t sell yourself short Judge, you’re a tremendous slouch.”

Chase: “Don’t be obsessed with your desires Danny … The Zen philosopher Basha once wrote, ‘A flute with no holes, is not a flute. A donut with no hole, is a Danish.’ … He was a funny guy.”

Judge: “What did you shoot today?”
Chase: “Oh, Judge, I don’t keep score.”
Judge: “Then how do you measure yourself with other golfers?”
Chase: “By height.”

As I can feel Matilda running the closing credits over me, it’s only fair that I sign off with the closing line of dialogue from Caddyshack.

Dangerfield: “Hey everybody, we’re all gonna get laid.”
All: [cheering]
[cue credits]

Caitlin’s Favourite Guilty Pleasure Movie: Bring It On

Caitlin Hamond

I remember being about 10 when I first took a day off school to learn the chant “I’m sexy, I’m cute…” and memorise the moves to “Brrrr, it’s cold in here!”.

Kirsten Dunst and Gabrielle Union in "Bring It On".

I can’t deny my love for this cringe worthy chick flick hasn’t faded since. I still get excited when Torrence becomes cheer captain, when Missy’s sassy tryout lands her a spot on the Torros and when the Clovers overcome the odds, get crump and win the championships. Let’s be honest, what girl my age hasn’t watched this movie and wanted to move to America and pursue a suddenly-realised dream of cheerleading? Bring It On satisfies every criteria a guilty pleasure movie should: a cute and loveable main character in Kirtsen Dunst, a classic teen love story (Hello, Jesse Bradford!), a prize-winning ‘rise of the underdog’ montage, and a gag-worthy clichéd plot that keeps you coming back for more in 4 awful sequals!

Don’t judge me for loving Bring It On, after all it makes me “smile…don’t smile”.


You’re Dripping Egg’s Staff Favourites series will be continuing throughout spring. For more information, click here

Do you have a favourite Guilty Pleasure Movie? Post it below, in Comments

